Anquan Boldin Named 2014 Byron Whizzer White Winner

Orlando, March 20, 2014 – The NFL Players Association announced today an award of $100,000 to the Anquan Boldin Foundation for winning the prestigious Byron “Whizzer” White Award, the highest honor given to a player by the NFLPA. The award is being presented at the annual NFLPA Player Representative meetings in Orlando during the joint session of active and former NFL players and honors the player who serves his team, community and country in the spirit of Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White. The late Supreme Court Justice was a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant – the personification of the ideal to which professional football players aspire.

Anquan Boldin is an 11-year NFL veteran and four-time Pro Bowl wide receiver who has played his career with the Arizona Cardinals, Baltimore Ravens and is now with the San Francisco 49ers. The Anquan Boldin Foundation’s mission is to expand the educational and life opportunities of underprivileged youth.  The “Q81 Foundation” is embarking on 10 years this April and has showcased charitable activities in Phoenix, Baltimore, South Florida and most recently in Boldin’s new home of San Francisco.  The area where Boldin is truly passionate is his hometown of Pahokee, Florida and the surrounding areas known as “the Glades.”  This area is one of an extremely economically-challenged community in the state of Florida. Boldin has also been involved with Oxfam America, Wounded Warriors and the United Way campaigns.

All 32 teams voted for nominees during the regular season and the NFLPA reviewed 54 applications, with each applicant awarded $5,000 for his foundation or charity of his choice. The judges, Domonique Foxworth, Kevin Mawae, Charlie Batch, Mike Kenn and Trace Armstrong, narrowed the applicants down to five finalists. The other finalists were: Davin Joseph (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Stephen Tulloch (Detroit Lions), Matthew Slater (New England Patriots) and Vonta Leach (Baltimore Ravens).

Previous Justice Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners
2013    Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers

2012    Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2011    Tony Richardson, New York Jets
2010    Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
2009    Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2008    Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
2007    John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2006    Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
2005    Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
2004    Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2003    Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
2002    Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2001    Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
2000    Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
1999    Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1998    Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1997    Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears
1996    Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
1995    Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
1994    Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
1993    Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
1992    Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
1991    Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
1990    Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
1989    Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1988    Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
1987    George Martin, New York Giants
1986    Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
1985    Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
1984    Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
1983    Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
1982    Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
1981    Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
1980    Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
1979    Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
1978    Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
1977    Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
1976    Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
1975    Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
1974    Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
1973    Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
1972    Ray May, Baltimore Colts
1971    Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
1970    Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
1969    Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
1968    Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
1967    Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers


2 thoughts on “Anquan Boldin Named 2014 Byron Whizzer White Winner

  1. Anquan Bolden is the first San Francisco 49er to receive this award. We are so lucky and grateful to have him on our team!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *